Steckman Named 2017 Friend of Afterschool

Steckman Named 2017 Friend of Afterschool

Des Moines, IA —Today, Representative Sharon Steckman of Mason City was awarded the 2017 Friend of Afterschool Award by the Afterschool Alliance of Iowa for being a true advocate and strong supporter of afterschool programs and providing tangible support to the issue.

Representative Steckman was also recognized for her service on the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and as the House Education Committee as Ranking Member.

Each year, the Iowa Afterschool Alliance honors individuals or organizations. Individuals previously recognized include Congressman David Loebsack of the U.S. House of Representatives, Iowa Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds, Representative Kevin Koester of Ankeny, Former Representative J. Scott Raecker of Urbandale, and Former Representative Ron Jorgenson of Sioux City.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *